WHAT ENGLISH DO YOU KNOW?

There have been English words used commonly in Italian for ages, but recently it has really picked up, to the point that some call it ANGLITALIANO.  The Italian answer to Spanglish or Chinglish.

How many English words exist in Anglitaliano?  Who knows?  But I listed those I could think of, and did about 5 minutes of googlage to see what I could put together.  Have a look.

ACCOUNT

ASSIST 

AUDIENCE 

BACKGROUND 

BAND  

BABYSITTER 

DOGSITTER 

BLACKOUT 

BASKET 

BOSS 

BREAK

BREAKFAST 

BUDGET 

BUSINESS 

CARTOON 

CASUAL 

CHECK IN

CHECK OUT

CLUB 

COLLEGE 

COMMERCIAL 

COMPILATION 

COMPUTER 

CONVENTION 

CORPORATION 

COUNTER 

CRACK 

DEFAULT

DESIGN

DESIGNER 

DESSERT 

DETECTIVE 

DIRECTOR 

DOPING 

DRIVER 

ESCALATION

ESTABLISHMENT

EVERGREEN

EXPORT

FAIR PLAY

FALLOUT

FAN

FANTASY

FAST FOOD

FEELING

FILM

FISCAL DRAG

FITNESS

FLASH

FOLK

FOLK MUSIC

FICTION 

FREE LANCE

FREEZER

FULL TIME

GADGET

GAME

GANG

GATEWAY

GAY

 GREMLIN

GULP

HANDICAP

GUARDRAIL

HAPPENING

HARDCORE

HARDWARE

HELP

HD

HOTEL

HOT DOG

HI FI 

HIGH SOCIETY

HIGH   TECH

HIT PARADE 

HOBBY 

HOLDING 

HORROR

IMPEACHMENT

IMPORT

INPUT

JOLLY

KILLER

LEADER

LEADERSHIP

LEASING

LOOK

LOVE STORY

MADE IN ITALY

MAGIC MOMENT 

MANAGEMENT

MANAGER

MASS MEDIA

MATCH

MEETING

MELTING POT

MERCHANDISING

MYSTERY 

MOVIE

NETWORK

NOMINATION

NON-STOP

OFF

ON

OPTIONAL

OUTDOOR

PANEL

PARTNER

PART TIME

PASSWORD

PAUSE

PERFORMANCE

PERSONAL COMPUTER

PLATFORM

POLE POSITION

PLAY

PLAYBACK

PLAYBOY

PLAYOFF

POLICEMAN

POOL

PRODUCT MANAGER

PUBLIC RELATIONS

PUNCH

PUSHER

PUZZLE

RACKET

RACING TEAM

RECORD

REFRAIN

RELAX

REVIVAL

RING

ROYALTIES

SCOOP

SEASON

SET

SHAKER

SHOCK

SHOPPING

SHORT

SHOW

SHOWMAN

SHOWDOWN

SIT IN

SKETCH

SKI – LIFT

SOCCER

SOFTWARE

SPARRING PARTNER

SPECIMEN

SPLASH

SPLASHDOWN

SPONSOR

SPOT

STAGE

STANDARD

STAR

STAR SYSTEM

STOCK  

STOP

STOPOVER

STRESS

STRIPTEASE

SUMMIT

TASK FORCE

TEAM

TEAMWORK

TEENAGER

TERMINAL

TEST

TICKET

TIMER

TOAST

TOP

TOPLESS

TOP MANAGER

TOP SECRET

TOP TEN

TOUR

TOUR OPERATOR

TRADING

TRAINING

TREATMENT

TREND

THRILL

THRILLER

THRILLING

TRIP

TRUST

TURNOVER

UNDERSTATMENT

UPPERCUT

VAMP

VIDEOCLIP

VIP

WALKIE TALKIE

WEEKEND

WELFARE

WELFARE STATE

WHITE COLLAR

YACHT

ZOOM

COMPUTER

INTERNET

SPORT

The following found on a blog

The words in CAPS are English words that would be commonly understood by many Italians that don’t think they speak a word of English!

OKAY, this WEEKEND I used my COMPUTER and MODEM to go ONLINE to TEST my WEBCAM and EMAIL on the INTERNET with my new ROUTER.  The SERVERSOFTWARE asked for a PASSWORD, then made me DOWNLOAD a FILE.  Perhaps I lack the KNOW-HOW.

Later, I listened to an ALBUM with MUSIC by a BOY BAND, then a CD with BLUES,HIP HOP, GRIND, CORE, some POP STAR, JAZZ and a HIT by a ROCK BAND, but there was a BLACK OUT. WOW!

So I took off my BLUE JEANS and wore a SMOKING. I looked COOL, so went to aSINGLES BAR in a HOTEL that was full of SEXY women and had a COCKTAIL with theMANAGER who called me MISTER. She was BEAUTIFUL, with great MAKEUP and anEXTRA-LARGE T-SHIRT.   She was truly a BEAUTY with a great NEW LOOK.  I saw myEX with her BOYFRIEND who clearly found a BABYSITTER that night..  They deserve their PRIVACY, so I said BYE BYE and went to a PARTY.  Sadly, everyone was aSNOB. I began to feel the STRESS. I had a DRINK, then left for a CLUB to see a BANDI am a FAN of that plays DARK music.  The PERFORMANCE was SOLD OUT.. everyTICKET!

Fortunately, I had a VOUCHER, so the STAFF let me in. OH YEAH! After the SHOW, there was a SUPER DEEJAY that had clearly been DOPING, and is probably onWELFARE.

Later I was hungry, so I got on my SCOOTER and went to a PUB, but I couldn’t decide between a HOT DOG, SANDWICH or a HAMBURGER, so ended up having aSNACK of  CRACKERSwhile watching some SPORT on the TV, followed by a TALK SHOW, a FILM, and a REALITY SHOW.

The following day, I went to the gym to do some SPINNING, JOGGING (or FOOTING) and BODY BUILDING before playing some TENNIS. Later, I took a car with lots of SEX APPEAL and a bigSTICKER for a TEST DRIVE, but it broke down at the STOP, and smelled of GAS. Maybe it was all the SMOG?  So I had to take it to the GARAGE.  Finally, after a little SHOPPING, I had a PICNICfor lunch with my BUSINESS PARTNER who shared some GOSSIP and NEWS about a friend with a HANDICAP that became a KILLER by giving someone’s PACEMAKER a SHOCK.  I thought about it and simply replied: NO COMMENT. It’s not a SCOOP, and has nothing to do with our PARTNERSHIP.  All I wanted was a BRIEFING and possible BRAINSTORMING about a new LOCATION for our BOOK SHOP, as well as our BUDGET and new SLOGAN. You know, a MARKETING MEETING.

That night I went to a BED AND BREAKFAST that was really nothing more than aLOFT with a BIG OPEN SPACE, instead of a RESORT.  After all, that is the latestTREND.  I read a FICTION, and went to sleep. GOOD NIGHT!

Leave a Reply

